Please login/register to apply for this job.
27 Apr 2022

Part-Time LGBT Support Worker

Jonathan Hastie Care – Posted by jhasti Reading, England, United Kingdom

Job Description

I am a 41yo disabled man with Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy. Funded by the NHS, I employ a team of PAs to support me 24/7 living independently at home, and going out and about professionally and socially.

I am looking for a PA specifically to support me 1-2 evenings per week to go out socially to LGBT venues, with friends or on dates, as well as supporting me at home to have sociable evenings in with others.

There is some flexibility in the shifts but I would like someone to support me on a Friday night from around 6pm until I go to bed, and possibly one more evening in the week. There could be opportunities for occasional weekends or trips away but this won’t be frequent.

I’m looking for someone to start as soon as possible but am happy to wait for the right person if they need time.

About me

I have severe muscle weakness in all areas which restricts all movement, requiring the use of a ventilator and electric wheelchair. I require assistance with all aspects of personal care, getting out socially and at-work support, full training is given. You must be OK with cats (I have two), and be comfortable supporting me as a gay man living with my husband in an ethically nonmonogamous relationship. I enjoy going out for drinks with friends, travelling, gaming nights and going to the cinema

What I’m looking for

As this role involves 1-to-1 care, it is most important for me to find someone who I can build a rapport with. You will either identify as LGBT or be a proud and open-minded ally who is comfortable working in LGBT venues.

The ideal candidate for this role will be punctual, reliable, trustworthy, caring and understanding. That’s important because you will be an essential part of my care team, someone who I can rely on to keep track of important equipment while I relax and enjoy myself. As you’ll be supporting me to sociable, ideally you will be comfortable chatting with people, friendly, good natured, respectful and encouraging and supportive of me trying new things. There’s an opportunity to build a lasting connection and friendship.

You will be able to recognise the responsibility of your role in maintaining my well-being without becoming overwhelmed by it. The job will feel intense at first but once you learn the job it becomes much easier. You will be given extensive training, but it is important that you can be comfortable with the responsibility of supporting someone on life support on a 1-to-1 basis. You will be comfortable taking direction from me on how to provide my care.

For me, the most important qualifications are your own personal qualities. If you have care experience that’s a bonus, but no experience is required and full training will be given.

Job details

Shifts can be 6pm-11pm or 1am depending on what I am doing. The role is 1-to-1 so although I have a care team, you should be comfortable with working on your own with me.

Interviews will be carried out over video messaging – I can use zoom, Skype, FaceTime and most other platforms, whatever you prefer. If the interview is successful I will invite you to my flat for a practical trial.

Pay is £14 per hour. You will be entitled to holiday pay and will be issued with employment contracts. There’s an opportunity to earn additional pay of £1000-£2000 about twice a year if you choose to support me on holidays. All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced DBS check and provide references.

I aim to be a respectful, understanding and supportive employer, because I know that happy staff provide better care. I also personally invest hours of training in each new PA and want to see them succeed. This is NOT a generic job with an employer that doesn’t care.

MAIN DUTIES: This is an overview of all the assistance I require from PAs, your specific duties will depend on the shifts you have agreed to. Training will be provided for all duties.

Supporting me to go out socially
Managing my ventilator and ensuring it is connected and functionally correctly at all times
Monitoring my health and wellbeing throughout the shift
Getting me washed, dressed and ready in the morning
Getting me undressed and ready for bed in the evenings
Assisting me with toileting
Assisting me with dental care, skin and nail care, including monitoring any problem areas
Preparing food and drink as required and helping to manage my diet plan.
Assisting me with eating at mealtimes.
Supporting me to access technology e.g. computers, TV, Ipad & phone
Support me with pet care for my cats – including feeding, cleaning litter trays and other pet care tasks
Assistance with turning, repositioning, toileting & monitoring of ventilation.
Sleeping will not be permitted on night shifts.

ESSENTIAL SKILLS:

Good observational skills
Ability to take instruction and listen carefully
Punctual, reliable and trustworthy
Good verbal communication skills
Not squeamish about personal care
No experience necessary but welcome

How to Apply

Email me at jonhastie81@gmail.com

Job Categories: LGBT. Job Types: Part-Time. Salaries: 20,000 - 40,000.

Job expires in 14 days.

50 total views, 1 today

Apply for this Job